Mason, Professor to Receive Awards for Disability Support

Posted: June 1, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Tonight, the Arc of Northern Virginia, a disability organization that advocates on behalf of Virginians with intellectual, cognitive and related developmental disabilities and their families, will present awards to Mason and to Michael Behrmann, director of Mason’s Helen A. Kellar Institute for Human disAbilities.

Michael Behrmann
Michael Behrmann

Mason will receive a special Lifetime Achievement Award for its contribution to people with disabilities through its employment programs, the LIFE (Learning Into Future Environments) Program and other initiatives.

In Mason’s LIFE Program, young adults with intellectual disabilities have the opportunity to take classes to help improve their literacy, employment skills and independent living skills, and even live on campus with college students. LIFE is operated by the Kellar Institute, part of the College of Education and Human Development.

Behrmann will receive a Community Award for showing leadership in special education. According to the Arc, Behrmann and other the other Education Leadership Award winners are individuals who have been recognized by parents and students within the school and community settings for an outstanding job in working to create an infrastructure of learning communities and opportunities for students with disabilities that truly allow students to work, learn and compete side-by-side with their peers without disabilities.

The awards will be presented at the Arc’s 18th Annual Education Leadership Awards ceremony at the Annandale campus of Northern Virginia Community College.

Other award recipients are Anne Lipnick, Victoria Menke and Deborah Hammer from Alexandria City Public Schools; Kip Davis and Barbara Brown from Arlington County Public Schools; Hafsa Rahman from Falls Church City Public Schools; and Jennifer Ellis, Janet McGriff, Pamela Jones and Jack Pitzer and his team from Fairfax County Public Schools. Other community awards will go to Steve Hibbard, Connection Newspapers; and Virginia Del. Chuck Caputo (67th District).

Write to at