Quill Awards Honor Outstanding Students, Advisors and Organizations

Posted: May 8, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Catherine Probst

Some of Mason’s most dedicated student leaders gathered for the Distinguished Quill Awards on April 25. The university-wide awards honor individuals, student organizations and advisors that have made outstanding contributions to their communities through their involvement, service and leadership development activities.

During the awards program, student leaders are also recognized in the Council of Student Umbrellas, the Student Funding Board, the Social Programming Fund Review Committee, Program Board, Student Government, the President/Provost Student Advisory Committee, Student Media Groups and the L-Team.

In addition, the Quill Awards acknowledge the undergraduate and graduate recipients of the Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges Award. This year, recognition in the LEAD Scholars and the Honor Committee Chair and Vice Chair has been added.

“These awards are important because they recognize the efforts and successes of all levels of the Mason community — students, faculty and staff,” says Mark Forrest, assistant director in the Office of Student Activities. “Also, since the awards program is at the end of the academic year, the awards become an attainable goal, which students and organizations strive to obtain.”

Marina Casciano, a senior majoring in history, works in the Office of Orientation and Family Programs and Services (OFPS), and was awarded the Patriot Award. The Patriot Award is presented to a student employee who works in a Mason office or department during the school year and has made a meaningful contribution to the office or department.

Approaching her third summer in OFPS, Casciano served as an orientation leader her first year, a family program coordinator her second year and will be serving as a special projects coordinator this summer. As a family program coordinator, Casciano was in charge of the Patriot Family Reception and Mason Madness activities.

As an international student from Brazil who has had the opportunity to travel the world, Casciano feels she has an open mind and has brought this quality to OFPS and enhanced the office.

“Although I have always worked hard for the betterment of this university, I never thought I could receive such an amazing award,” says Casciano. “The OFPS office has allowed me to grow and become more independent.”

Chris Monk, assistant professor in the Department of Psychology, received the New Advisor of the Year award. The award is presented to a faculty or staff advisor who has exhibited outstanding leadership and service to a recognized Mason student organization for less than two years in addition to his or her regular job responsibilities.

Monk serves as the advisor for the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society Student Chapter. The chapter researches and studies the interaction of humans with devices to accomplish tasks.

As advisor to the chapter, Monk’s primary role is to “help them along” by attending executive committee meetings and other events to ensure everything runs smoothly. Because the chapter is such an organized, self-sustaining organization, it makes his job much easier, according to Monk.

“As a strong advocate for students, I am willing to work hard to help them achieve their potential,” says Monk.

Other winners of the 2007 Quill Awards follow.

President’s Student Leadership Award

Tameka Jones, Resident Student Association, LEAD Scholars, Azucar Salsa Club and Psychology Student Diversity Affairs Committee

Student Leadership Awards

Tarek Hbeichi, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc.

Cathy Huynh, National Society of Collegiate Scholars and American Society of Microbiology

Sapna Khatri, Mason Aware Club

Tarren Smarr, Panhellenic Council

Lee Warner, Program Board and Tau Kappa Epsilon Fraternity

Mayor’s Service Award

Erin Girardi, Mason Habitat Club

University Community Service Award

Feven Ghebremedhim, Akoma Circle and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. — Omicron Iota Chapter

University Life Award

Tiashia Roberts, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. — Omicron Rho Chapter and Black Student Alliance

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

Beth Bullard, Music Department, American Indian/Alaskan Native Student Association and Turkish Student Association

Student Organization of the Year

Hispanic Student Association

University Community Service Award

Alpha Phi

University Life Award

Catholic Campus Ministry

Council of Student Umbrellas Awards

Catholic Campus Ministry

Hispanic Student Association

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc.

Educational Program of the Year Award

“Latinos Hablan — Panel Series”

Hispanic Association

Innovative Program of the Year Award

“Volunteer Week”

Circle K International

Write to at