Alumni Association Presents Awards of Distinction

Posted: April 24, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Each spring at the Celebration of Distinction, the George Mason University Alumni Association recognizes and honors outstanding alumni, students and faculty members for their achievements and contributions to the university. Following are the alumni award winners this year.

Alumna of the Year: Carolyn Kreiter-Foronda, MEd ’73, MA English ’79, and PhD ’83

Alumni Service Award: Bruce Johnson, BS ’70, and Mariann Johnson, BS ’71

School of Law Alumni Chapter Distinguished Alumni Award: Craig Benson Young, JD ’82

Wayne F. Anderson Award for Distinguished Public Service: Charlie Deane, MPA ’92

Department of Communication Outstanding Alumnus: Erin Irtenkauf, BA Communication ’05

Career Connection Alumni Award: Christopher McGowan, BS Accounting ’94

School of Public Policy Alumni Service Award: Kate Trygstad, MS New Professional Studies ’05

Stephen Karbelk Alumnus of the Year Award: Matthew Salter, BA History ’01

Beth Kauffman Award for Creativity: Jenny Mason, BA Communication ’06

Volunteer Network Outstanding Commitment Awards: Mike Short, BS Marketing ’89, and Tracey Short, BA Communication ’90

Thomas W. Iszard III Alumni Service Award: Karen Reedy, BFA Dance ’95

College of Health and Human Services Distinguished Alumnus Award: Susan Hassmiller, PhD Nursing ’93

New Century College Outstanding Alumni Award: J. Lee Hill Jr., BA Integrative Studies ’01

Volgenau School of Information Technology and Engineering Alumni Chapter Outstanding Service Award: Dennis Pereira, BS Computer Science ’01

Write to at