George Mason Faculty Honored for Outstanding Teaching

Posted: April 19, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Laurie Fathe

The campus community is invited to celebrate the achievements of the winners of the 2007 George Mason University Teaching Awards today. Five outstanding educators will be honored from 4 to 6 p.m. in George’s Restaurant on the third floor of the Johnson Center on the Fairfax Campus.

The winners of the 2007 Teaching Excellence Award are:

  • Lisa Bauman, adjunct professor of History and Art History, winner of the Teaching Award in General Education

  • Lisa Koch, assistant professor, English

  • Suzanne Scott, assistant professor, New Century College

  • Odette Willis, assistant professor, School of Nursing

  • Paige Wolf, assistant professor, School of Management

Bauman teaches the general education courses Art History 101, 150 and 360. She holds a PhD in art history from Northwestern University and a BA in art history from Saint Louis University. She has been teaching at Mason since 2000. Prior to joining Mason, she served as an instructor at the University of Chicago and at Northwestern University. She has been interested in the educational side of art history since graduate school and draws on her experience leading museum tours to engage the students in her general education classes.

Koch teaches such courses as the general education English 101 and 102 as well as upper division courses in women and literature. She holds an MA and PhD in English from the University of Maryland and a BA in English from Washington University in St. Louis. She has presented her educational work at conferences and has shared her work extensively at Mason. She is the founding editor of In Process: A Graduate Student Journal of African American and African Diasporan Literature and Culture and has been a reader for the Advanced Placement exam in English.

Scott teaches a variety of courses, many of which include art and gender issues. She holds an MFA in interdisciplinary art from Goddard College, an MA in English literature from James Madison University, and a BA in English from Eastern Mennonite College. She returned to academia after many years of running her own business. At Mason, she has helped develop several new courses in New Century College, such as Gender Representation in Popular Culture and Art as Social Action. She has presented her educational work at many conferences and is the author of a chapter in “Educating for Change: Teaching and Learning about Diversity.”

Willis teaches the spectrum of foundational courses in nursing. She returned to academia after more than 20 years as a nursing professional in the military and the private sphere. She holds an MBA in health services management from Golden Gate University, a MN in medical/surgical nursing/education from UCLA, and a BSN from Texas Women’s University. She is currently completing her PhD in nursing at George Mason. She has presented her educational work at professional conferences and at Mason, and brings to her students the on-the-ground experience of her years in the field.

Wolf teaches courses on human resources, teams and leadership and organizational behavior. She holds an MS and PhD in psychology from Virginia Tech and a BS in psychology education from the University of Delaware. She has been on the faculty at George Mason since 2002 and has served as program manager for the School of Management’s Classroom Plus MBA program and the MS in bioscience management program. She has given numerous presentations on her educational work at professional conferences and at Mason.

The George Mason University Teaching Excellence Award was initiated in 1996 to highlight the importance of teaching in George Mason’s mission, and to recognize those faculty members who are leaders within the educational community, on campus and beyond.

The Teaching Award in General Education was inaugurated in 2005 to recognize a faculty member who makes outstanding educational contributions in the university’s general education program. The award is given annually to a faculty member who has made a significant difference through her or his teaching in the general education program.

Teaching Excellence awards are supported by the provost.

Winners for both awards are selected through a competitive process in which they document their educational excellence through a teaching portfolio and other materials.

Finalists in the process, and the winners, are chosen by a committee composed of former award winners and the director of the Center for Teaching Excellence. Teaching Award winners receive a monetary award and travel support to present their work at a national or regional conference.

Write to at