Mason Celebrates University Day

Posted: April 5, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

In celebration of George Mason’s full university status proclaimed by the Virginia General Assembly, the Mason community celebrates University Day every year on April 7. This year marks the 35th anniversary of Mason’s formal separation from the University of Virginia.

Traditionally, this event is marked by an annual awards banquet and recognition for employee services to the Commonwealth of Virginia. This year’s celebration will be held on Thursday, April 5, and will honor many of Mason’s longest tenured employees.

The awards program will honor two employees for 40 years of service to Virginia: Lorraine Brown, English; and Donald Gallehr, English.

Another six employees will be honored for 35 years of service: Debra Bergoffen, Philosophy; W. Murray Black, Volgenau School of Information Technology and Engineering; Louis Buffardi, Psychology; Aldona Gozikowski, Provost’s Office; B. Joseph Lieb, Physics and Astronomy; and Stephen Saperstone, Mathematical Sciences.

Twenty-two employees will celebrate 30 years of service: Luis Agruirre, University Services; Rita Ailinger, School of Nursing; Steven Allen, Facilities Management; Richard Baum, Information and Software Engineering; Keith Davies, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Warren Decker, Communication; Richard Entrikin, School of Management; John Evans, Physics and Astronomy; Robert Johnston, School of Management; Walter Kravitz, Art and Visual Technology; Elyse Lehman, Psychology; Pamela Levy, University Libraries; Ronald Levy, Mathematical Sciences; Jay Marsh, Intercollegiate Athletics; Frank Matthews, University Equity Office; Josephine Mose, Molecular and Microbiology; Linda Samuels, School of Management; Susan Shreve, English; Suzanne Slayden, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Glenn Smith, Music; Robert Smith, Psychology; and Christopher Thaiss, English.

Those celebrating 25 years of service include: Phillip Buchanan, School of Management; Susan Collins, Intercollegiate Athletics; Martin De Nys, Philosophy; Nancy Herring, Facilities Management; Jack High, School of Public Policy; Devon Hodges, English; Dee Holisky, College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Veronique Klimonda, Human Resources and Payroll; James Levine, Modern and Classical Languages; Julianne Mahler, Public and International Affairs; Kevin McCrohan, School of Management; Ann Palkovich, Sociology and Anthropology, Steven Pierson, Purchasing; Young Ro, Philosophy; Francine Roberts, School of Nursing; Roy Rosenweig, History and Art History; Dennis Sandole, Institute of Conflict Analysis and Resolution; Sarah Seeberg, Creative Services; Jay Shapiro, Mathematical Services; Shannon Skousgaard, Philosophy, Patricia Snellings, College of Science, Charles Thomas, College of Education and Human Development; and Dennis Webster, Multicultural Research and Resource Center.

Twenty-year, 15-year, 10-year and five-year employees will also be honored, along with Employee of the Month award recipients.

Write to at